Eye of the Storm

Directed by Sékou Traoré

Written by Luis Marquès, Christophe Lemoine

Produced by Axel Guyot, Sékou Traoré, Philippe Braunstein

Fiction / Drame / 102 min.


In an African country plagued by civil war, a young idealistic lawyer is officially assigned to defending a rebel accused of war crimes.


Emma Tou : Maïmouna N'Diaye

Blackshouam : Fargass Assandé

Solo : Abidine Dioari

Roc : Issaka Sawouadogo

Le Bätonnier : Jacob Sou

Père Tou : Serge Henry

La soeur d'Emma : Fatou Traoré


Image : Pascal Baillargeau

Editing : Isabelle Proust

Production design : Papa Kouyaté

Sound : Antoine Faure, Siribié Lassina

Music : Thierry Malet

Assistant director : Patrick Meunier Santiago

Latest news on this film

Maimouna N’Diaye is heading to the Festival de Cannes

Actress Maimouna N’Diaya – previously seen as the unforgettable Emma in EYE OF THE STORM (Sékou Traoré) - will be a jury member in the Cannes feature films competition.


Theatrical release of The Eye of the Storm on the 22nd November 2017

The french theatrical release of Eye of the Storm is planned for November 22nd 2017


Eye of the Storm at 2017th FESPACO

The feature of Sékou Traoré was planned at the opening of the FESPACO 2017 after winning 7 awards at the Burkina festival in 2015



Quatre nominations pour L'OEIL DU CYCLONE aux Trophées Francophones du Cinéma : Meilleur long-métrage de fiction, meilleur scénario (Luis Marquès), meilleure actrice (Maimouna N'Diaye) et meilleur second rôle masculin (Fargass Assandé). Bonne chance aux nominés, la compétition est rude : Sissoko, Cotillard, les Combattants, Lucas Belvaux, Adele Haenel... La liste complete des nominations : http://www.trophees-francophones.org/#!nominations/c1zg9


Succes in festivals for Eye of the Storm

With its Best Feature Film Award at the Pan African Film Festival, Eye of the Cyclone continues its success ! The feature film by Sékou Traoré just received its 7th best film title while the actress Maimouna Ndiaye has won 5 best actress titles. 


EYE OF THE STORM takes it all

Yesterday night the FESPACO jury literaly covered Sékou Traoré's film with awards and distinctions : best actress for Maimouna Ndiaye and best actor for Fargass Assandé, best First Film for director Traoré and the Bronze Stallion Award. EYE OF THE STORM also won Best feature film (CEDEAO), best african film (UEMOA) and the Sembene Ousmane Award.


EYE OF THE STORM officially selected for the FESPACO Film Festival

EYE OF THE STORM, directed by Sekou Traoré, will be part of the international competition at the FESPACO, which is due to take place in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) from fev. 28th to march 7th, 2015.


EYE OF THE STORM wraps up in Ouagadougou today

EYE OF THE STORM has ended principal photography today. The film is a coproduction beween France (AVALON), Burkina Faso (ABYSSIA PRODUCTIONS) and Cameroun (VYNAVY)



EYE OF THE STORM starts principal photography today in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso). Sekou Traoré directs while Luis Marquès, author of both the script and the theater play it was adapted from, works as art director.